Durutti Column, The – Domo Arigato (4CD Box)


Format: 4CD Box
Artist: Durutti Column, The
Label: Factory Benelux

Available on backorder

SKU: FBN052-2 Category:


Factory Benelux presents an expanded edition of Domo Arigato, the acclaimed live album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, recorded in Tokyo in April 1985.

Domo Arigato followed on the heels of ambitious ‘modern classical’ album Without Mercy a year earlier and saw composer/guitarist Vini Reilly and percussionist Bruce Mitchell augmented by John Metcalfe on viola and Tim Kellet on trumpet. Their show-cum-recital at the Kan’i Hoken Hall on 25 April was recorded digitally and filmed on two 35mm cameras. ‘Mixing down was fun,’ recalled Durutti manager/mentor Anthony H. Wilson. ‘We were on a flight out next morning so Nippon Columbia hired a mobile studio recording truck and we mixed from midnight to 6 a.m.’

In fact, the group always considered this rather hurried mix imperfect, and therefore for this expanded 2017 reissue Factory Benelux have returned to the original soundboard tapes and remastered the performance, in the process restoring the original running order. A digital copy of this v2.0 mix is also included.

Disc 1 (CD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. Mercy Theme
4. A Little Mercy
5. Dream of a Child
6. Mercy Dance
7. The Room
8. E.E.
9. Blind Elevator Girl
10. Tomorrow
11. For Belgian Friends
12. The Missing Boy
13. Self Portrait
14. Audience Noise

Disc 2 (CD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. Party
4. Never Known
5. Mercy Theme
6. A Little Mercy
7. Jacqueline
8. Dream of a Child
9. Mercy Dance
10. A Silence
11. The Room
12. E.E.
13. Pauline
14. Conduct
15. Tomorrow

Disc 3 (CD)

1. Blind Elevator Girl
2. The Beggar
3. For Belgian Friends
4. The Missing Boy
5. Self Portrait
6. Sketch for Dawn
7. Sketch for Summer
8. Jacqueline
9. Without Mercy (version)
10. Love Fading
11. Take Some Time Out/Messidor
12. Never Known
13. Dream of a Child

Disc 4 (DVD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. A Little Mercy
4. Mercy Dance
5. The Room
6. E.E.
7. Blind Elevator Girl
8. For Belgian Friends
9. The Missing Boy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Domo Arigato”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *