The Jesus and Mary Chain – Sound of Speed (LP)


Artist: The Jesus and Mary Chain
Label: 1972
Format: LP

Available on backorder

SKU: IF020LP Category:


2013 release. “The Sound of Speed is the second compilation of singles, B-sides and rare tracks from The Jesus and Mary Chain, one of the greatest UK singles bands, and just as essential as its predecessor Barbed Wire Kisses (B-Sides and More) for its quality of songs and degree of variety. It’s arguably just as influential and meaningful to fans, having been released just as a newly amassed alternative nation was sprouting up. Covering the period of 1989 to 1993, The Sound of Speed collects B-sides off classic singles from Automatic and Honey’s Dead. ‘Snakedriver’ oozes classic Jesus and Mary Chain bluesy sleaze, while ‘Write Record Release Blues’ is a knowing knock at the record industry. The album serves up another batch of great covers, including the dirgey take on Leonard Cohen’s ‘Tower of Song,’ the sweet pass at the Temptations’ ‘My Girl,’ the distorted walk through Willie Dixon’s ‘Little Red Rooster,’ the 13th Floor Elevators’ ‘Reverberation’ and the left-field version of Jerry Reed’s ‘Guitarman.'”


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sound of Speed”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *