Various Artists – Total 22 (CD)


Artist: Various Artists
Label: Kompakt

Available on backorder

SKU: KOMP170CD Category:


It’s common knowledge that Kompakt’s Total series serves as our yearbook, a musical wrap up of the past 12 months. Therefore, it doesn’t come as a surprise that 2022’s edition is informed by another pandemic year, where dancefloors were still mostly deserted and the devastating developments in Eastern Europe. Kompakt’s A&R team still kept on foot on the imaginary dancefloor, while scouting different realms apart from the big room euphoria. Anyway, brain dance has always been a key ingredient to our catalogue. Kompakt founding member Jörg Burgeradequately opens Total 22 with a groovy midtempo chugger that reminisces “Blue Lines” era Massive Attack as much as the late Andy Weatherall‘s low slung psychedelia. Jürgen Paape is calling a spade a spade with “Le Monde À Changé” — the world has changed. Parisian rookies, Archil & Leon won the label’s hearts over with an EP full of laidback, funky pop played on their self-made instruments. “Loving You” rightly made it onto this compilation. Matias Aguayo returns to the mothership with “The Tiger”, a lascivious beast of a track, perfect for getting lost in reveries. Dutch-American techno legend Orlando Voorncontinues his foray into Kompakt’s sonic continuum with “Deeper Shades”. Perel is spreading love with her ravishing piano house tune “Matrix”, taken from her recent album Jesus Was An Alien (KOMP 171CD/KOM 451LP). The Voigt brothers (Voigt & Voigt) are further building the vibe with their crispy exclusive contribution “Why”, before Jonathan Kaspar ultimately pushes the energy to (almost) post-pandemic levels. Barnt‘s tranced-up secret weapon “This Is For Decor Only” makes a welcome appearance and Mexican musician Rebolledodelivers a first solo appearance on Total with his trademark hypnotic desert sound. Agents Of Time are melting hearts with “Blu” while proudly putting Italian vocals back into Italo house. Michael gives the overly talented Danish singer songwriter eee gee a proper Michael Mayer treatment before a whole bunch of Berlin legends, Bleep Gigaverse, are closing Total 22 with a bang.
01. Crawling Up That Hill (Instrumental Version)
02. Le Monde A Changé (feat. Bruno)
03. Loving You
04. The Tiger
05. Deeper Shades
06. Matrix
07. Why
08. Umfang
09. This Is For Decor Only
10. The Sharper Image
11. Blu
12. All Or Nothing (Michael Mayer Remix)
13. Gigaverse NFT

Additional Information


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Total 22”

Your email address will not be published.